Starting the Road to Health & Fitness

Once upon a time, there was a high school athlete.

She practiced for two hours a day, five days a week, and she could eat anything and everything she wanted without having to worry about gaining weight.  As high school wore on, however, this athlete worked out less and less as she studied more and more to keep up with her classwork.  The summer after she graduated, she exercised very little and put on some weight.  Throughout her freshman year of college, she gained the freshman fifteen and then some.  This trend of weight gain continued throughout her summers and her sophomore and junior years of college until she no longer recognized herself in photographs.  One day she looked in the mirror and realized that she was no longer healthy or happy.

This girl is me.

Many years have come and gone, contributing to my current out-of-shape, not-very-healthy, man-I-could-lose-a-few-pounds self.  Now, this is not about the numbers on the scale.  Every size, every shape, every journey is beautiful.  This is about being healthy, being happy, and being comfortable in my own skin.  I’ve noticed that I don’t have much energy, I crave unhealthy foods, and it isn’t as easy for me to do active things as it has been in the past.  I’m sick of feeling this way, so I have decided to change.

This marks the beginning of my fitness journey.  I’ll tell you what, it’s a bit unnerving to post this on the Internet for various reasons (admitting that I’m not where I’d like to be, opening up and being vulnerable, acknowledging the possibility of failure or setbacks, etc.) but I think that it is important to document this process for a few reasons.

First and foremost, posting about my food, my workouts, and my overall lifestyle will give me accountability.  I want to make sure that I stick to this journey and live a more healthful life.  Also, in beginning my workouts and changing my diet, I have done a lot of research about what to do, what not to do, and everything in between.  With all of the research and opinions out there, it has been hard to discern what to start doing and what to stop doing.  I want to post about what works, what I like, et cetera to help others in the future.

So, here we go!

Here are a few goals I have for the journey ahead:

  1. To meet my weight loss goals.
  2. To learn to cook healthy meals.
  3. To learn to like running.
  4. To run a half marathon.

This is only the beginning, and I am excited for what’s to come.

Leave a Reply

